(Français) Georges MATHIEU

Georges Mathieu was born in Boulogne-sur-Mer (Pas-de-Calais) on January 27, 1921. He began painting in 1942 after studying literature, law and philosophy at the University of Lille. From 1944-1945, Georges Mathieu practices a “gestural painting”. He is certainly one of the first in France to react against the geometric abstraction and organizes, as soon as 1947, a series of demonstrations promoting an art freed from all the constraints and classical habits that he names Lyrical Abstraction and of which he establishes himself as its main defender.

Using directly paint tubes without previous sketches, he paints with impunity and thus opened painting new horizons. He reveals the process of his creation by painting in front of his audience. André Malraux named him the “occidental calligrapher”, and Mathieu will confront the Japanese tradition during a stay in Japan in 1957 where he encountered great success. The artist gained international fame, as evidenced by the number of exhibitions during his career, in as many different places as New York, Montreal, Rio de Janeiro, Tunis, Singapore …

Despite his success, Mathieu will never stop reinventing himself. For example, he went from a central composition to a distribution of forms invading the entire canvas. He would also create a large number of furniture, jewelry, sculptures, ceramics and even tapestry cartoons for the Manufacture Nationale des Gobelins.

He died on June 10, 2012 in Boulogne-Billancourt. His works are present in many prestigious museums such as the National Museum of Modern Art in Paris, the Museum of Modern Art in New York City and the Museum of Modern Art in Tokyo.

Georges MATHIEU

Georges Mathieu est né à Boulogne-sur-Mer (Pas-de-Calais) le 27 janvier 1921. Il commence à peindre en 1942, après des études de lettres, de droit et de philosophie à l’Université de Lille. À partir de 1944-1945, Georges Mathieu pratique de plus en plus une peinture gestuelle. C’est certainement l’un des premiers en France à réagir contre l’abstraction géométrique et organise, dès 1947, une série de manifestations promouvant un art libéré de toutes les contraintes et habitudes classiques qu’il intitule l’Abstraction Lyrique et dont il se fait le défenseur.

Utilisant directement des tubes de couleur sans esquisse préalable, il peint impunément ses toiles et dirige de cette manière la peinture vers de nouveaux horizons. Il dévoile le processus de sa création en peignant devant son public. André Malraux lui donnera ainsi le nom de « calligraphe occidental », et Mathieu se confrontera par ailleurs à la tradition japonaise lors d’un séjour au Japon en 1957 où il rencontre un franc succès. L’artiste acquiert une renommée internationale, comme en témoigne le nombre d’expositions au cours de sa carrière, dans autant de lieux différents : New York, Montréal, Rio de Janeiro, Tunis, Singapour…

Malgré le succès, Mathieu ne cessera jamais de se réinventer, en passant par exemple d’une composition centrale à une distribution des formes envahissant toute la toile. Il créera également un grand nombre de meubles, bijoux, sculptures, céramiques et même des cartons de tapisseries pour la Manufacture Nationale des Gobelins.

Il décède le 10 juin 2012 à Boulogne-Billancourt. Son œuvre est présente dans de nombreux musées prestigieux comme le Musée National d’Art Moderne de Paris, le Museum of Modern Art de la ville de New York et le Musée d’Art Moderne de la ville de Tokyo.