Karl LAGASSE

Renowned artist Karl Lagasse gained much attention in 2009 with his One Dollar sculptures. Artprice ranked him among the top ten sculptors in the world under 30 the same year. In 2012, the New York publication Farameh named him among the fifty best contemporary artists who drew their inspiration from traditional American icons in his FOR WHICH IT STANDS: Americana in Contemporary Art. More recently, at the Art Paris Art Fair 2016, the President of the French Republic personally congratulated Karl for the success of his 2 meter One-Dollar  in bronze, which was exposed at the Grand Palais.

Karl began his artistic journey with collages at the age of seven. That year, his meeting with the French sculptor César Baldaccini pushed him to continue along this path. Later, he started to go into the Paris metro, as tag and graffiti had become his favorite artistic expression. Nevertheless, collages remained his true passion. It is the artist Yvaral Vasarely who suggested to him to integrate his tags to his collages. In 2003, Karl was preparing his first exhibition in Paris. His first personal exhibition presenting his Buildings was held in 2006 at the Isy Brachot Gallery in Brussels. Two years later, Karl was back in Paris at Espace Pierre Cardin for his first solo exhibition of paintings and sculptures featuring video and photographic elements.

In 2017, the American Film Festival Deauville decided to call on Karl Lagasse to realize the trophy for the competition. It is from his monumental work “Cryptogram One” that the artist was inspired to make the trophies of the 43rd edition of the Festival to be awarded to the winners. Made of polished cast aluminum, this work of art suggests some messages on its four sides “Hope”, “7th Art”, “Deauville”. In all, 13 trophies will be awarded during the Festival, between the Tributes and the Jury Awards.

Karl LAGASSE

Artiste renommé, Karl Lagasse s’est fait connaître en 2009 grâce à ses sculptures One Dollar. La même année, Artprice le classait parmi les dix meilleurs sculpteurs du monde de moins de 30 ans. En 2012, la publication new-yorkaise Farameh le citait parmi les cinquante meilleurs artistes contemporains qui tiraient leur inspiration des icônes américaines traditionnelles dans son ouvrage FOR WHICH IT STANDS: Americana in Contemporary Art. Plus récemment, lors de l’Art Paris Art Fair 2016, le président de la république française a personnellement félicité Karl pour le succès de son One Dollar de bronze de 2 mètres exposé au Grand Palais.

Karl a commencé son parcours artistique par des collages, à l’âge de 7 ans. Cette année-là, sa rencontre avec le sculpteur français César Baldaccini l’a poussé à poursuivre dans cette voie. Plus tard, il s’est aventuré dans le métro parisien, le tag et le graffiti devenant son mode d’expression de prédilection. Malgré tout, les collages restaient sa vraie passion. C’est l’artiste Yvaral Vasarely qui lui a suggéré d’intégrer ses tags à ses collages. En 2003, Karl préparait sa première exposition à Paris. Sa première exposition personnelle présentant ses Buildings s’est tenue en 2006, à la galerie Isy Brachot, à Bruxelles. Deux ans plus tard, Karl était de retour à Paris à l’Espace Pierre Cardin pour sa première exposition personnelle de peintures et de sculptures comportant des éléments vidéo et photographiques.

En 2017, le Festival du Film Américain de Deauville a décidé de faire appel à Karl Lagasse pour réaliser son Trophée. C’est à partir de son œuvre monumentale «Cryptogramme One» que l’artiste s’est inspiré pour réaliser les trophées de la 43e édition du Festival qui seront remis aux lauréats. Réalisée en fonte d’aluminium polie, cette œuvre d’art laisse deviner quelques messages sur ses quatre faces «Hope», «7e Art», «Deauville». En tout, 13 trophées seront remis pendant le Festival, entre les Hommages et les Prix du Jury.